DLIST Demonstration Sites

The Zanzibar Archipelago has two main islands - Unguja and Pemba. Ras Mkumbuu (‘ras’ mean ‘peninsula’ in Arabic) juts out from the centre of the west coast of Pemba, the lesser known of the two sister islands of Zanzibar. The west coast of Pemba is full of islands, bays and lagoons. The shores are lined with dense mangrove forests, and some local mangrove planting initiatives have been quite successful. Rich coral reefs surround the islands, with a high diversity of both fish and corals.
Mombasa city is located on the Kenyan coast about 432 km south east of Nairobi, the capital of Kenya. Coral reefs, mangrove forests, sandy beaches, lowlands and kaya forests characterise the area. The main socio-economic activities include tourism, fishing and trade in the coastal areas. Mombasa is a historical trading town that attracts hundreds of thousands of tourists annually and is well known for its beautiful beaches, such as the Jomo Kenyatta Public Beach (JKPB).
The Masoala Peninsula in north-eastern Madagascar is home to the largest remaining lowland rainforest in the country. One of the richest areas in the country in irreplaceable biodiversity, it is also one of the few remaining places in the world where pristine primary rainforest still meets the sea, and hence is contiguous to a coral reef system. The Masoala National Park has been a World Heritage Site since June 2007. The Ambodiletra community is located at the remote tip of Masoala Peninsula.
Le Morne village is situated on the southwest corner of Mauritius. The Le Morne Brabant Peninsula is highlighted by a single standing basaltic rock rising 556 meters above sea level which is one of the most impressive sights in Mauritius. The mountain covers an area of more than 12 hectares with a plateau that is protected by steep slopes and overhanging cliffs. The mountain and surrounding lagoon is not only important for its cultural heritage but also for its biodiversity. The Le Morne Cultural Landscape was inscribed as a World Heritage Site in 2008.
The town of Vilanculos is located on the Mozambique coast approximately 500 km north of Maputo. It is adjacent to the Bazaruto Archipelago National Park, which is home to the only viable dugong population in the entire Western Indian Ocean region. A study conducted by the Dugongs team, (www.dugongs.org) suggested a rapid population decline. Recent surveys however, suggest about 300 individuals live in the Bazaruto Archipelago. Communities mainly engage in fishing activities as the main form of livelihood in the area, although some people do practice subsistence agriculture. Most boats are sail-powered, without any cold storage or ice making facilities.
Hamburg is located in the Amatole District Municipality on the Eastern Cape coast, approximately 35 km southwest of East London. Situated on the banks of the ecologically important Keiskamma River Estuary, the town was established in 1857. It comprises of a mixture of descendants of British colonials and German settlers and the isiXhosa people. Currently, the town is home to approximately 3000 inhabitants, most of which are highly dependent on natural resources.
Kilwa is located in the Lindi region in Tanzania, around 240 km south of Dar es Salaam. It is one of the oldest towns in East Africa, with the earliest records of settlements dating back as far as the 9th century. Initially it was a famous trading centre where Arab traders shipped ivory, slaves and other valuables from the African continent. Archaeological investigations were initiated in the 1950’s and in 1981 the ruins of Kilwa (Kilwa Kisiwani) were declared a World Heritage Site. The Rufiji Delta is exceptionally rich in biodiversity
Comoros has the highest population density of any African country after Mauritius. It is also one of the poorest. Yet there are spectacular marine resources and the government has been working with the local community to protect them. Comoros is also known for the discovery of the coelacanth, a fish with pre-historic features thought to have been extinct for 65 million years. The archipelago of four islands, of which Moheli is one, has a diverse culture and history, as a nation formed at the crossroads of many civilizations
Curieuse is the fifth largest island in the Seychelles (2.86 km2) and it belongs to the “inner group” of islands in the Seychelles, located just off the north western coast of the second largest island in Seychelles – Praslin. Curieuse is, aside from Praslin, the only other island where the Coco-de-mer grows naturally. Curieuse also boasts an endemic vine and eight different species of mangrove. The island and its surrounding waters obtained Marine Park status the 11th of June 1979 and today Curieuse is home to an exciting tortoise rearing project.